Army Sports Award Announcement

By October 4, 2019 No Comments

With another outstanding year in British Army Sport, it is with great pleasure the Army Sport Control Board announce the nominees for the 2019 Army Sports Awards:

Sportsman of the Year

* Cpl Simon Horsfield – Sailing

* LSgt Natty Ngwenya – Boxing

* Cpl Leon Hinds – MA (BJJ)

Sportswoman of the Year

* LCpl Dee Bolakoro – Netball

* Maj Karen Owen – MA (Karate)

* Cpl Dani Hodgkinson – Athletics

Rising Star of the Year

* Pte Jessie Lutwyche – Athletics

* Capt Kat Rye – Triathlon

* OCdt Kay Bryson – Pentathlon

Sports Official of the Year

* WO2 Nikki Mead – Volleyball

* Capt Nikki O’Donnell – Rugby Union

* Lt Col Nav Naivalurua – Rugby League

Winning Team of the Year

* Army Women’s Cross Country and Road Race Team

Lifetime Achievement

* Lt Col Charles Bromley Gardner – Services to Army Sports


The awards ceremony will take place at The Royal Military Academy Sandhurst on Thursday 21st November 2019, where we will celebrate with the winners and sportsmen and women from across the British Army.

Congratulations to all the final nominees and well done to all the athletes put forward for the selection board for their outstanding achievements in sport, making the final selection very difficult. Keep up the great work!